//
you're reading...
Urban Culture

The Other Side of Valentine!

esq-01-kids-valentines-day-haters-lgMy funny Valentine..

Valentine’s day is that time of year where everything dresses up in tacky sickening red. It’s like a  massive attack of red hearts and teddy bears…

Before I proceed, I have a little confession to make: I hate Valentine’s Day celebrations! Yes, you heard right: I’m allergic to red hearts and cheap red lingerie.

Don’t be shocked!! I’m not being bitter because I survived many heartaches and sad breakups and it’s some kind of a reaction, no: I truly believe that Valentine’s Day celebrations DO suck and that, my friend, is a solid fact.

Ok, I know what you’re thinking, and I definitely don’t want to be labeled as a heartless b****: I like romance, and I’m a very loving person, I have nothing against love; what I hate is not Valentine’s day itself, but the way some people celebrate this phony love thing.

When it comes to Valentine’s, people are never impartial: on the extremes you have, on one side the Valentine’s freaks who are crazy about all those red hearts, balloons, boxes of chocolate and stupid gadgets..
And on the opposite side: the anti-Valentine freaks, (like myself) who make silly unpleasant jokes about it.
Of course, in the middle, you have the moderate ones who offer red roses and classy jewelry,but those are too normal to be criticized!

Not to mention the special “men only” category that includes the jerks who always break-up right before Valentine’s day to avoid getting a present!!!

Please don’t get me wrong, I told you, I have nothing against love itself!! It’s against the way this occasion is promoted!
Come on, they call it in Arabic “3id et 7obb” or ” 3id El 3ouchak” … But the way I see it: it’s a combination of Christmas (for the gift shopping part) and New Year (for the celebration part) and it comes before Easter, right before Mother’s Day .. So it’s conveniently placed in a dead season on the commercial calendar!

As far as I can remember, I’ve always considered Valentine’s day a stupid thing for stupid people! Just an occasion to sell those horrible teddy bears made in china and those overpriced roses.. I was thinking of a hostile, cruel way to talk about those who celebrate Valentine’s! But while doing it, I surprised myself daydreaming of my weirdo of a boyfriend.. And smiling.. So I guess love happens in different ways; Of course it makes people do stupid things, but it’s such a cool feeling that people sometimes pretend to be in love just to feel the rush, because Love makes you feel high and drunk and dizzy.. But without the illegal stuff!

I once read a funny quote about love, it’s simple and so true: “Love is like a Rubix Cube, there are countless numbers of wrong twists and turns, but when you get it right, it looks perfect no matter what way you look at it “. I guess that says it all.

Roula N.

3b7111f46d305bc2b1646394280c954f hatevalentinesday i_hate_valentines_day

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think ?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

